Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Setting up internet connection on Linux

Search this Thread

Old 08 April 2003, 11:31 AM
Dracoro
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi all! Anyone know a bit about Linux?

I'm new to Linux and have just installed Redhat 8.0.

I can't seem to get an internet connection to work. I set it up and clicking on Activate it just hangs. Then after closing it says that it is Active but I can't get onto the net using mozilla or Evolution.

I also get a login error (localhost.localdomain error about no connection)?? This didn't come up until recently & I cannae get rid of it. I guess this is related to the above problem.

The Connection wizard also cannot probe/find my modem so I have to set up manually using the values it defaults to.

The PC is a Packerd Bell 1.5GHZ P4, 256MB RAM with Aztech V92 CNR modem. ISP is Freeserve (works OK when I use Windows XP).

Anyone help please?

Many thanks in advance
Old 11 April 2003, 10:57 AM
Ken E
Scooby Regular

cnr modem won't work.

you need either an isa modem (proper old fashioned hardware modem,) you need an isa slot on your motherboard for this, not very common on modern boards. Or you can use a lucent chipset based modem and download the driver and patches and install them. I think the Zoom Hayes ones have this chipset.

Alternatively, get an external modem that is compatible, I believe the US robotics ones work OK, but check out some of the linux websites to get exact details of make and models that work OK. Expect to pay at least £50 for one of these.

Check the linux websites before you decide or you could end up buying another modem that does not work.
Old 12 April 2003, 10:33 AM
Dracoro
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up