Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Tracking illicit computer use? XP Home

Search this Thread

Old 18 November 2003, 09:36 AM
Brendan Hughes
Scooby Regular

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Question

I changed the password on someone else's user login on my PC, to stop them using it. I found out last night that they were using it while I was away without any password.

My first thoughts are that they got my (admin) password, deleted their own, and could thus get into their account. We've just moved house, and when he switched on while I wasn't there, apparently his password lock had mysteriously disappeared, freeing up his account, while two others were still there. Funny, that.

I'd like to examine previous use of the machine for each user, but am not sure how. Firstly I'm no security expert, and secondly the machine is at home without internet while I type this at work 10 miles away (on a non-XP machine), so please bear with me!

Last night I right-clicked on My Computer, got Manage, and looked at ?Event Log. When I look at the event log for my login, it shows a lot of activity at times when I know I wasn't there, and the event log on his login shows activity when he shouldn't have been using it. But it's not clear if it shows activity on each login, that proves it was being used, or if for instance I have Norton AV on the machine and, because the machine was being used by one user, Norton ran and therefore logged as an event on all users, ie it doesn't really prove anything about individual illicit user activity.

I see also there are Event Codes? Can I get a table of these which tell me which action was being taken? Is this a good idea?

Any other hints gratefully received, but pref. Windows-based, I'm useless with dos hacking.

Many thanks in advance

Brendan
Old 18 November 2003, 10:46 AM
Jye
Scooby Regular