Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Wireless network card problem

Search this Thread

Old 19 February 2004, 11:21 AM
GaryK
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wireless network card problem

Hi,

Im no networking expert, far from it, just got another PC in the office, installed Win2k and slapped in a netgear wg311 wireless pci network card. Now the software that comes with it shows that it detects the us robotics wireless router but for some reason it cannot get an IP address (set to dynamic) and lan connection just says cable unplugged. Its a clean install so havent ****ed around with any settings.

Did the same a couple of weeks back on another machine and it just worked! Very frustrating

Any ideas anyone?

Cheers

Gary
Old 19 February 2004, 02:38 PM
andys
Scooby Regular

Have you got any other network cards in the machine?
Originally Posted by GaryK
Hi,

Im no networking expert, far from it, just got another PC in the office, installed Win2k and slapped in a netgear wg311 wireless pci network card. Now the software that comes with it shows that it detects the us robotics wireless router but for some reason it cannot get an IP address (set to dynamic) and lan connection just says cable unplugged. Its a clean install so havent ****ed around with any settings.

Did the same a couple of weeks back on another machine and it just worked! Very frustrating

Any ideas anyone?

Cheers

Gary
Old 19 February 2004, 05:45 PM
RoadrunnerV2
Scooby Regular

Are you running WEP encryption on the router?

Have you tried using a static IP?

Hi,

Any ideas anyone?

Cheers

Gary
Old 19 February 2004, 06:01 PM
GaryK
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

rr,