Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Apple Power Mac G5

Search this Thread

Old 21 August 2004, 07:13 PM
Danny B
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Apple Power Mac G5

Thinking of making the switch to a Mac and have seen a brand new G5 2x 2.5ghz cpu based system for sale @ £2k.
A lot of dough for a computer I know but I have just started to get into Digital Photography and my Intel P3 600 is grinding to a halt when converting RAW files to JPEGS.

Question,
I work with PC's all day and am quite good with Windows etc, how easy would I find Mac OSX to do my day to day e-mails, office docs, web surfing , photoshopping etc bearing in mind I have NO EXPERIENCE whatsoever on a Mac.

Would I get frustrated and sell up in a few weeks?

Any Mac Gurus out there with some good links that I can read up on?

Cheers
Old 21 August 2004, 07:34 PM
angrynorth
Scooby Regular

Hi Danny. I moved over last year because my job required it. Wasn't looking forward to it at first but now... well, just look at my posts

Here at www.demomac.com there is a quicktime movie where you can see me messing around on my dual 1.8 with 1.5g ram. Should give you an idea of some of the usability things that OSX has built in. (ignore my spelling)

A dual 2.5 will blow almost any competitor out of the water, especially with your RAW conversions.

Day to day OSX is a zillion times easier to work with. It will take you a couple of weeks to get used to a couple of things that are pretty much polar opposite to windows but once you do you will be so glad you did.

There is a very good community too, so if you do find yourself struggling with something (unlikely) then you won't have any trouble finding an answer - just ask here there are some fellow mac monkeys who will come out of the woodwork to help