Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Is my wireless network secure?

Search this Thread

Old 24 May 2007, 11:14 AM
New_scooby_04

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool Is my wireless network secure?

Hi All,

I'm new to wireless networking and was just wondering if anyone culd advise my on what I need to do to ensure that my network is secure.

I have, at the moment, just a single laptop connected to my router (A Vigor 2800G) Windows VIsta says my Network is secured (I used WPA2) and I have the router firewall (I'm not sure how to configure this, but it appears to be working) Vista firewall, which reports all ok and Norton Internet security (which is happy). I've also hid my SSID....seemed like a good thing to do at the time! :-)

Am I secure? Is there anything else I should do to protect myself? Novice level advice only please! :-)

Thanks for any advice offered.
Old 24 May 2007, 11:21 AM
mike1210
Scooby Regular

how long is your password, a short one is pointless. Use a long 64 character password if possible

Generate a Secure Password - kurtm.net

Hiding a SSID doesn't really give any security benefit, but if it makes you feel happy

oh and as far as internet security goes, Kaspersky would get my vote, Nod32 for just Anti-virus
Old 24 May 2007, 11:24 AM
mike1210
Scooby Regular

as far as the Router, is remote managment on? If so have you changed the default password on the router to a complex password

Bad = scooby
Good = $coobyDo24+?wer
Old 24 May 2007, 11:31 AM
PeteBrant
Scooby Regular

If you are using WPA then you are fairly secure - If someone really really wanted to stand outside your house and hack in to your network they probably could in a few hours, but for all intents and purposes you are secure, yes.
Old 24 May 2007, 12:02 PM
New_scooby_04

Originally Posted by PeteBrant