Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

27" imac - tell me about them

Search this Thread

Old 12 January 2012, 09:12 PM
An0n0m0us
Scooby Regular

Received 29 Likes on 16 Posts
Question 27" imac - tell me about them

Firstly no apple haters please (you listening F1 ), i'm just after knowledge from those who know their Apple stuff.

As a Windows Server engineer I like my windows kit and have always bought Windows laptops/desktops/servers.

The Mrs has been looking at 21.5" imacs and when I went to PCWorld earlier she asked me to check the prices for her. So off I went to have a look and as soon as I clapped eyes on the 27" imac and had a play I loved it. That screen is simply stunning.

What interests me is the fact it's quad core (albeit only i5) but can take 16gb ram upgradeable yourself for very little and the fact I can run Windows on it through bootcamp or parallels.

So I can have OSX for home stuff/media etc and still have my Windows setup with my vmware farm all still available to run.

What's the 512mb video card like? Is it pretty cr4p only being 512mb or does it still run latest games OK?

What is the reliability like? Definitely take out the 3 year apple care for £139?

I've just ordered a Dell XPS 17 3d 1080p laptop for under £1k from Dell outlet but now i'm thinking for the extra £400 i'd rather have the brand new imac with that huge screen/resolution allowing me to have so much on the screen at one time.

How easy is it to install Windows 7 through bootcamp and is bootcamp something you have to buy?

Also just to check on the ram, it takes 1333 ddr3 so the same as laptop ram?

Oh and one last question there is no usb3 port so is there an adapter for usb3 to thunderbolt?

Last edited by An0n0m0us; 12 January 2012 at 10:34 PM.
Old 13 January 2012, 12:25 AM
kbsub
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts