Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Twin Dump Down pipes..Fashion accesory or really better

Search this Thread

Old 18 September 2001, 01:28 PM
Gridlock Mikey
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I've been on a quest laydees and gents and have been investigating downpipes. Now i'm not a mechanic and indeed my requirements are simple. A bit more power, a bit more noise and a bit more fun.

Over the past few months, I have learnt to investigate any potential mods to see if they are all hype or genuine "improvments" to the car.

This twin dump malarchy seems to be a bit "designer" for my liking.

I have spoken to alot of people about the benefits and the responses have been VERY woolly to say the least.

Some say "MORE BHP MIKEY" others report "MORE TORQUE MIKEY" others say "MORE FUEL EFFICIENT MIKEY" and even some that say "NOT AS GOOD AS A BLANKED OFF ONE MIKEY"

My understanding of down pipes has rapidly become sceptical especially this twin dump issue.

The way I see it, unless you are canning your car for 75%+ of the time that you are driving it, then it is a totally unnecessary mod. A mod which in some cases can cost an additional £80 + VAT

Someone out there must know the score, has my reasearch lead me to the right conclusion or am I totally barking up the wrong tree?

MIKEY

Wants a Downpipe but feels like some people are trying to earn money out of him because he isn't mechanically minded
Old 18 September 2001, 01:48 PM
CraigH
Scooby Regular

Cool

The ones that don't sell TD pipes - are they the ones that say they don't work?

The theory is that the exhaust gasses are seperated from the wastegate, causing less turbulence, hence smoother flow......

People that have fitted twin dump pipes after a single outlet report impressive improvements.......

However I am unaware of any back to back comparisons that actually confirm this.

Most of the quicker cars out there run twin dump pipes.