Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

BRAND NEW UK-STI IMPREZA

Search this Thread

Old 27 February 2004, 10:00 AM
fergie_uk
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default BRAND NEW UK-STI IMPREZA

Hello folks im brand new to the Impreza scene, this is my first purchase test drove one about a month ago and fell in lonve with the speed/handeling etc... now waiting for delivery on the 1st of march. Just a coule of question's if i may, please be gentle with me as i say im brand new to this so be patient with me.

No1. I read a lot about running in new engines but what the best method?.

No2. Looking at some mods on the net and i see things like MY00, MY03 what does this mean?.

No3. What would any of you folks recommend for my first mods? exhaust etc.???

Regards
Dave
Old 27 February 2004, 11:42 AM
fergie_uk
Scooby Regular

Comon folks just cause im new.
Old 27 February 2004, 11:58 AM
CyberScoob
Scooby Regular

Hi Fergie and welcome, i too fell in love with the impreza the first time i test drove it and have never looked back.

No 1. Not sure about this sorry.

No 2. MY = Model Year ie. MY97 for 1997 P/R reg.

No 3. The most common first mod i think most people go for is the exhaust. Let the car breath more, full decat system or sports decat. From turbo back. For this you will need a down pipe from turbo, centre section and back box.

Hope this helps
Old 27 February 2004, 12:07 PM
fergie_uk
Scooby Regular

Thanx , would i be cheeky on asking advice for suppliers and types?
and i also hear alot of ecu re-map would this need to be done after changing exhaust?

Regards
Old 27 February 2004, 12:08 PM
john banks
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Follow the running in procedure in the owner's manual.

Your warranty friendly option is a Prodrive Performance pack which claims 300 BHP up from 262 BHP as standard.
Old 27 February 2004, 02:41 PM
TonyBurns
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts