Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Imprezza Burning Oil

Search this Thread

Old 02 March 2004, 03:39 PM
PSlater
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Imprezza Burning Oil

Have a very unhappy Imprezza !! Jap '99 WRX RA version 5.
Started burning a lot of oil suddenly, still had some boost and appeared to run ok, just a lot of smoke out the exhaust.
Had the turbo rebuilt -
Flushed the intercooler as best a possible refilled oil (only mobil 1). Ran the engine lot of smoke (assumed burn off in the exhaust and residual in the intercooler) Engine smooth on start up ! Took for a drive about 35 miles - checked oil level again off the bottom of the stick ! still lots of smoke !!

Any clues or ideas where to go next please !!
Old 02 March 2004, 06:37 PM
JamieMiller
Scooby Regular

Sounds to me like the turbos gone. I'm not an expert but in the past I was an HGV fitter, when ever we fitted a new turbo we always charged the turbo oil feeds with fresh oil to give it a chance on start up. Also if your getting oil in the intercooler this points to the same thing. Did you fit the turbo yourself? or if not did the person who fitted it carry out this procedure? I don't know how relevent this is to car turbos but if I was fitting one I would carry out the same thing if possible. BTW I fix jet engines now so I have a basic grounding for how turbos work.

Jamie.
Old 02 March 2004, 08:01 PM
scoobyboy
Scooby Regular

with it running undo the oil filler cap there should be a slight vacuum if it's chuffing out of there then you got a problem
Old 02 March 2004, 08:49 PM
APIDavid
Former Sponsor
Support Scoobynet!
Support Scoobynet!Support Scoobynet!

Location: @Junc 12, M40 Warwicksh; 01926 614522 CV33 9PL -Use 9GX for Satnav. South Mids Alcatek ECu dealer
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

PSlater, Seems that you might have lost the turbo, however, what oil did you use? grade I mean?? It's dangerous to use anything less than 10W/40 or 50 in a Subaru.