Notices

Suspension & brake overhaul: anything else whilst I'm there

Search this Thread

Old 21 November 2015, 09:03 PM
SuperCat
Scooby Regular

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Suspension & brake overhaul: anything else whilst I'm there

I have got some PCA Dynamics springs for my recently purchased Hawkeye WRX Wagon and having had some great advice from members here decided to get some KYB shocks to achieve a suspension overhaul. Should I do top mounts at the same time? etc.

The above has been slightly delayed due to having a failing piston on a caliper last week. For this I have managed to source a set of 4 calipers all round and will be refurbishing these and get some hoses which I have ordered from Pro-Line. Apart from discs and pads is teher anything else which i should look into?

Being a newbie here I just wanted to get opinions on if there is anything else I should consider doing "whilst I am there"?

I would be interested in measures to preserve the underbody components as well as getting uprating replacement parts that are known to fail or be under specced as standard. The wagon has low mileage and well looked after but the downside is the underbody looks "rusty" even to an untrained eye like mine!

Thanks in advance.
Old 22 November 2015, 10:56 AM
ditchmyster
Scooby Regular

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Polly bushes, both roll bars and steering rack, Alyn @ AS Performance is your man, (also have a chat with him about any other stuff, he's very helpful and knowledgable.

I would also consider an STI standard rear roll bar, Mattbrdevolopments the breaker on here is your man for that, he will even powder coat it in a colour of your choice, all of the above are cheap and very effective, especially the steering rack bushes.

Look at the thread about uprated roll bars and UK roads, you'll see my Wagon set up in there.

Edit to add, solid front and rear drop links are a good idea too.
Old 22 November 2015, 11:53 AM
alcazar
Scooby Regular