Notices

Classic import sti misfire/hesitation please help !

Search this Thread

Old 13 February 2021, 11:01 AM
Slipalong88
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Classic import sti misfire/hesitation please help !

Hello everyone, I’m at my wits end with my Subaru 😞 it’s been a nightmare lately ...

to start a little backstory on the car, I’m a delivery driver and I see this 1996 estate sti import sat in a lady’s drive for over a year and it didn’t move, so one day I enquire and end up buying said car, so it had been sat for just over a year, I got it up together and mot’d , initially it had a issue where it would hunt up and down once started, I cleaned the sensor on the top of the intake manifold and that sorted the hunting...

now to the misfire, it’s worse when it’s cold it bunny hops and skips up the road until warm ... once warm the only time it does it is when you put your foot down say another 30% or hit the turbo it stutters and suddenly boom it boosts like a jet plane it’s madness ... then change gear and same again stutter until boost hits in properley.

so far I have changed the coil pack, ht leads, cleaned the maf, changed the plugs with ngk pfr6b plugs, changed the manifold and up pipe due to a rotted up pipe and manifold, changed vac lines and checked the turbo no play or anything, it doesn’t smoke or use water or oil... on full boost I get a smell of fuel through the heaters ...?

any ideas at this point would be appreciated a lot !!!

my next port of call was to strip the intake manifold and injectors and refresh everything there but to be honest I don’t want to do in blind, a few ideas would be fantastic at least I’d have something to go on 🙂
Old 13 February 2021, 12:23 PM
NOSSY_89
Scooby Regular

Received 449 Likes on 373 Posts

It might be the MAF is gone. Replace with a good OEM original. Not a replica. Could also be fuel pump and clogged sock. Also if its been sat for so long check the PCV valve.