Notices

Turbo not working on occasions?????

Search this Thread

Old 11 January 2004, 11:43 AM
andrew mason
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

On occasions when driving my 99uk turbo it appears as if the turbo does not cut in?, then the next time i drive it its purfectly ok. Has this happend to anyone else, do you know how to fix the problem!!!!!!
Old 11 January 2004, 12:15 PM
john banks
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question

2nd gear from about 30mph on steady throttle for a few seconds and then full throttle = 8 PSI (just over half boost) for noise compliance?
Old 11 January 2004, 12:45 PM
andrew mason
Scooby Regular

Im new to the car and its performance! how did i get rid of the problem, do you know of a reputable tuner? in the north east???
Old 11 January 2004, 12:56 PM
greasemonkey
Scooby Regular

Hey John, do you know of any reputable tuners?
Old 11 January 2004, 12:58 PM
greasemonkey
Scooby Regular

Andrew, can you expand a little on what's happening here? The phenomenon John is referring to only happens in second gear when you cruise on part throttle for a few seconds and then boot it.

Is the boost disappearing in other gears, or is it (as your original post seems to suggest) disappearing for extended periods of time?
Old 11 January 2004, 03:32 PM
andrew mason
Scooby Regular

Yes mate, the problem occurs in every gear. Its as if the turbo is'nt there. It accelerates as a non turbo car and the dump valve does not "go off" on a gear change? It can be quite embarassing especialy when golf's leave you standing. Its a bit weird though cos the car is perfectly fine at the min i've just been out in it.!
Old 11 January 2004, 04:57 PM
nom
Scooby Senior

Seeming it's a MY99, the usual culprit is the MAF...