Notices

Big MY99 Problem...

Search this Thread

Old 01 April 2004, 02:51 PM
RS Grant
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Big MY99 Problem...

Coming home in early hours of Saturday morning, admittedly, I was pressing on.. Country road, nobody about, good conditions etc..

Car stuttered, and wouldnt pull.. this was at 60mph+++.. Thing was that the turbo was still spinning as it was dumping when I let off, but there seemed to be no power there.

I drove it slowly until I got to a stretch of street lights where I stopped and looked under the bonnet for anything obvious. (I'm not a mechanic and anything slightly technical would be invisible to me )

Couldnt see anything, gave the car a wee rev and thick grey smoke came out the exhaust and also a bit came out of the intercooler , smelt like something was on fire....... Which I think indicates an oil problem??

Anyway, turned car off and it let out a massive bang (backfire) from the exhaust.

Called Subaru Assistance and organised a recovery truck to come get me.

Guy arrived, turned car on to drive it onto the back of his truck?! But by this time it was throwing out huge amounts of white smoke, which indicates a problem to do with water??

It was idling so rough that the whole car was shaking.. Sounded like it was running a cylinder down, or at least thats what the guy said, I couldnt really hear anything. Was too busy getting over the shock of my car being on the back of a recovery truck...........

Anyway, car was taken to Town and County Subaru, in Perth. Got a car (Ford Focus) organised through my warranty company for the first 48hrs. Then the dealership have extended this for 5 working days, however on the phone today they said that on Saturday I would have to give back the hire car.