Notices

Cat removal from standard car

Search this Thread

Old 20 February 2006, 12:09 PM
stevo1970
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cat removal from standard car

My MY00 UK Classic is completely standard. Would it be a complete waste of money to remove one of the cats but leave the rest of the exhaust as it is. The car is fitted with a standard STi back box so is quiet, would it be much louder with a cat removed. Which cat would be the best to remove, the replacement sections for the center section cat appear to be the cheapest.

Finally would a replacement air filter element make any difference to the car with or without a cat removed?

Thanks folks I am a bit of a novice in the scooby world.
Old 20 February 2006, 12:24 PM
New_scooby_04

Originally Posted by stevo1970
My MY00 UK Classic is completely standard. Would it be a complete waste of money to remove one of the cats but leave the rest of the exhaust as it is. The car is fitted with a standard STi back box so is quiet, would it be much louder with a cat removed. Which cat would be the best to remove, the replacement sections for the center section cat appear to be the cheapest.

Finally would a replacement air filter element make any difference to the car with or without a cat removed?

Thanks folks I am a bit of a novice in the scooby world.
Hi There,

No, it wouldn't be a waste of money if you just removed one of them. However, the effects are different depending on which one you remove. If you decat the Downpipe, you'll notice the greatest performance gains, but you'll also struggle to pass the MOT emmissions with just the centre pipe cat in place (you'll need to have the car tested whilst it's very hot). If you remove the cat in the centre section, you'll notice a significant change in the sound (deeper and louder) but only a mariginal gain in performance. The MOT will not be a problem.