Notices

Bit of buying advice for a novice....

Search this Thread

Old 22 May 2006, 01:56 PM
Stuffing
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bit of buying advice for a novice....

Hi there everyone, I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to scoobies, but I was told this was the place to come and ask questions, so thought i'd come and pick your brains!

So, I'm considering buying an Impreza turbo, there's a mass of models about, but i've managed to find some information about them from google, so i'm 99% sure what kind of car i'm looking for...

What I don't know is what kind of problems i'm going to encounter with the cars, and what I should be looking out for!

1 car sepcifically has taken my eye - it's a 1996 N reg' (as far as I can gather that's a later registered one) serie McCrae. It's got a fair few miles on it (130k) but has 16 service stamps and a load of receipts for servicable parts... So what i'm after is, what should've been replaced at this milage (shocks/springs/bushes/entire car)? And what issue can I expect to go wrong on a higher milage car?

If anyone would be so kind as to point out a few of the common problems with the turbo Impreza's, then that'd be fantastic aswell!

Thanks loads for your help guys, and if this has been posted before I do apologise, first day on the forum, did a bit of a search but didn't come up with much!
Old 22 May 2006, 02:07 PM
Scoobdogg
Scooby Regular

I don't know if this will be of any help to you.

http://www.sidc.co.uk/faq.htm
Old 22 May 2006, 02:11 PM
ClintUK
Scooby Regular

Should be on 3rd cam belt.

Check for noisy turbo

Check air filter - you may find oil in the filter box in which case MAF may be dirty (or dodgy anyway), which can lead to a lower than actual reading by the ECU and leaner running resulting in expensive engine trouble.

Clutch will probably be on its way out if it's not been changed.