Notices

MY03 STi with PPP > next step in tuning?

Search this Thread

Old 11 April 2008, 03:50 PM
S3TH
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MY03 STi with PPP > next step in tuning?

I have a UK MY03 STi with PPP and just wondered what the next logical step in tuning would be.

- Car is daily driver so needs to keep good driveability
- Budget of 2k
- Would like safe/reliable power output on standard internals and turbo.

Ideally would like high 300`s in terms of power.

Would FMIC, headers/upipe, remap suffice?

thanks.
Old 11 April 2008, 07:59 PM
AdamNI
Scooby Regular

I'm no expert mate, but headers and decat etc plus a remap would give you around 350bhp. I know of some who put a full 3" exhaust plus genspec headers and got around that mark. I would have thought to get up around 400bhp would take all of that plus a new turbo. As for turbos a lot seem to recommend the MD321H, which i believe is a bit over a grand. Not sure about injectors, the 550s? might be at there limit there, same for the air intake although a lot would say it's good for up to 400bhp.

I would guess 2K would get you pretty close, maybe if you sell some of the bits you need to change to help with the cost.

Somebody will be along with the right answer i'm sure

Adam
Old 11 April 2008, 08:18 PM
corradoboy
Scooby Regular

Suspension mods will make your car much more driveable and faster than power. I'd recommend at least springs (Eibach), rear ARB (Whiteline) and solid droplinks with a good geo set-up. You could consider an anti-lift kit and front ARB. If you want supreme cornering ability, then get AST coilovers. All these are available as packages from Powerstation.