Notices

Back Pressure is it good or bad

Search this Thread

Old 02 February 2002, 08:47 PM
mega_stream
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Is torque lost with a catless exhaust system, on an otherwise standard car?
I've been reading some reports stating having too free a flowing exhaust system can actually decrease performance.

As I'm no engine expert, I've no idea if this is true..I'm wondering if I should fit my original downpipe back on my car.
I know a shed load of people have free flow systems that crank out high bhp/torque, but noticed many have also upgraded the fuelling/turbo/FMIC etc etc..

Should I put my original dp back on's the short question

John

[Edited by mega_stream - 2/2/2002 8:47:58 PM]
Old 02 February 2002, 09:41 PM
mole
Scooby Regular

Wink

mega_stream,

Seeing as none of the well informed people have answered you, I will start the ball rolling!

As far as I know, our engines need some back pressure, too much no good, too little no good.

When I fitted a de-cat downpipe (albeit ppp ecu and ppp exhaust), The first thing that became apparent was massive torque increase and quicker spool up.

I have not had, (nor will I), one of those huge back box things, on some cars they can reduce back pressure so much that the torque drops dramatically.

Some cars also suffer from "overboost" with a de-cat, more likely in colder weather, and with higher octane fuel (inc booster).

Hope this gives you a starter for 10, (sounds like university challenge)

Cheers, Moles Dad.
Old 03 February 2002, 01:59 AM
Steve Breen
Scooby Regular

A question to mega_stream.....did you notice a drop in torque when you put the system on? If you didn't and feel that the car is faster now why worry?