Notices

Just read my ECU...

Search this Thread

Old 08 July 2009, 07:16 PM
C8XY
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just read my ECU...

Can someone please help me out, I have just read my ECU and its reporting two fault codes:

13. Camshaft Position Sensor.
44. Turbocharger Pressure Control Signal.

Obviously I'm worried now

Can someone explain what this actually means?

Cheers
Old 08 July 2009, 07:32 PM
rookymatt
Scooby Regular

Hi c8xy, im a bmw tech but most engines use cam sensors in the same way so here goes the spiel.........
The engine uses cam position and crank position to determine its fueling and spark timing. if you lose the cam position the engine will use a substitute value and the crank position to re-determine its fuel/spark. just get the sensor replaced and leave the battery off to clear the ecu and it should be fine. With that fault in you will find a slight drop in performance and slightly higher than normal fuel consumption. With regards to the turbo im suspecting the boost control valve isnt sending a signal back to the ecu, but im sure a hardcore scooby boffin on here could clear that up for you a bit better. hope this helps mate!
Matt

Last edited by rookymatt; 08 July 2009 at 07:42 PM.
Old 08 July 2009, 07:41 PM
Splitpin
Scooby Regular

What context are you asking in, is your car sitting there unable to start? And what type/MY is your car? Presume it's MY99 from your profile, but always better to know than guess.

Anyway, the error 13 means the ECU can't lock on the signal coming from the cam position sensor. If this is the case we can only presume your engine either won't start at all or is running very rough. As Matt says the control unit uses the cam and crank sensors to determine whereabouts in the rotation cycle the engine is, and without one or the other, will be unable to time the ignition and injection properly.