Notices

WRX to STI conversion

Search this Thread

Old 27 October 2009, 02:21 PM
scoobye-len
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default WRX to STI conversion

Hi folks I am new to all this so bare with me!!!
I have some questions about my UK 2002 Bug-eye impreza. The engine went bang about a year ago and i am now ready to sort it out!!! I want to put a classic STI lump in as i am told they fit? but in truth i am not too sure about what i can and can’t do!

My plan is to:

1. Fit a classic STI lump into car. (SUBARU IMPREZA STI 92-98 EJ20 ENGINE)
2. Put a TD05H-20g turbo on.
3. Front mounted intercooler

The engines comes with no ancillaries on it, so i was hoping that a lot of my parts on my WRX would transfer over?
Some of my questions are:
1. Will my ECU work with the engine?
2. Would my injectors fit and be sufficient?
3. Would fuel pump be ok?
4. Is the turbo a straight fit and will the feeds to it be standard as the WRX?
5. Anything else that will cause headaches such as gearbox, flywheel etc that i have to consider or buy/modify?

Thanks in antisipation for your help guys.
Len
Old 27 October 2009, 02:52 PM
Splitpin
Scooby Regular

Best thing to suggest at the moment is that you do some more reading and searching, as your idea currently has more than a few holes in it, it isn't immediately obvious what you're trying to achieve, and some of your follow-on questions you'll be able to answer yourself with a little more knowledge. It sounds like you're trying to do this on the cheap (by fitting an old engine), but on the other hand seem to be after a power hike.