ICE Serious sounds for serious cars.

Dismal Sounds

Search this Thread

Old 13 October 2000, 10:57 PM
CLS
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Apologies for my complete lack of knowledge but what is the cheapest and most effective way of improving the sound system in my MY00.
I am a complete novice when it comes to ICE, but I know my system is sadly lacking.
Help!
Old 13 October 2000, 11:24 PM
Mr.Cookie
Scooby Regular

Talking

Hi CLS

Upgrading speakers to start personally i would go with the best set of components you can afford for the fronts and ignore rear speaker, then next up grade head unit then amplifier then sub box. Chiark has done a very good
Old 13 October 2000, 11:29 PM
Mr.Cookie
Scooby Regular

Talking

Ps The best set of speakers are necessarily the most expensive but the ones which sound best to <B>your</B> ears.

Simon
Old 15 October 2000, 09:09 PM
CLS
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

Thanks for that Simon I'll hopefully get myself sorted thanks to your advice

Cheers

Chris
Old 15 October 2000, 11:51 PM
DaveW
Scooby Regular

CLS,

I just upgraded the head unit. This really improved the sound quality so the standard Philips unit must be poor. I haven't felt the need to upgrade the speakers.

DaveW
Old 16 October 2000, 12:26 AM
Robertio
Scooby Regular

Upgrade the Head Unit, the thing in it as standard is absolutely terrible (unless you listen to the radio, in which case it is average).
I had planed on leaving the standard one in until I had the Clifford and Tracker fitted, but could not cope with it and fitted the Sony minidsc unit as soon as I got the car home and just hoped no-one stole it.
You will notice a huge difference.
Old 16 October 2000, 02:21 PM
sgould
Scooby Regular

Fit Alpine. Not the cheapest nor the dearest, but provide excellent quality, both head units and speakers.
Most of their units aren't excellent looking, but most of the lookers don't perform as well, and are more fiddly.