Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Why is UK (building) plaster pink?

Search this Thread

Old 10 November 2015, 02:31 PM
alcazar
Scooby Regular

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Why is UK (building) plaster pink?

The stuff for plastering walls, not sticking plasters?

I've not used any here in the UK for an age, and have just been given half a bag to patch a hole I made in the bathroom wall when plumbing, in order to get at the fixings better.

I was surprised to note that it seems an even darker brownish-pink than I remember.

Yet the same stuff bought in France, for less money, is white...and lasts longer unused before the whole bag goes off. I have a bag over there I've been using for well over 18 months, whereas this bag, opened quite recently, needs to be used on the wall within ten minutes of mixing, or it's unworkable

Why is our stuff such sh1te? And pink???
Old 10 November 2015, 05:29 PM
LSherratt
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

To make more money out of us UK suckers. Take paint for example. It used to be decent stuff but now half of it is practically water which means you end up buying twice as much as it's such a watery thin mix!
Old 10 November 2015, 05:29 PM
Paben
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by alcazar

I've not used any here in the UK for an age, and have just been given half a bag to patch a hole I made in the bathroom wall when plumbing, in order to get at the fixings better.

I was surprised to note that it seems an even darker brownish-pink than I remember.

Yet the same stuff bought in France, for less money, is white...and lasts longer unused before the whole bag goes off. I have a bag over there I've been using for well over 18 months, whereas this bag, opened quite recently, needs to be used on the wall within ten minutes of mixing, or it's unworkable

It's pink so you can see you've covered it with the white skim finish.
Old 10 November 2015, 05:32 PM
stevebt
Scooby Regular