Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

I Hate My Job

Search this Thread

Old 22 August 2002, 11:29 AM
Kippax
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I remember my career advisor saying people are crying out for mechanical engineers but I'm stuck in a 9-5 I hate and can't seem to find anything else. I have a degree and 13 years experience and have tried agencies and specific employers but found nothing.

How come some people manage to change their job every 2 years with promotion and a better salary?

Any advice?
Old 22 August 2002, 11:42 AM
Mufasa
Scooby Regular

Wink

Learn CAD and go contracting in the aircraft industry.
Mate went from dole (after getting design degree and laying on the beach) to £80K in 18 months.
Old 22 August 2002, 11:45 AM
jasonwrxowner
Scooby Regular

I work in recruitment. Most employers will look for a good career progression. You should be looking at demonstrating a career move (To a better position) or a promotion within your company about every 2 years. Most recruiters, (in my limited opinion) will consider you to be unambitious if the do not see this represented in your CV.

A bit of clever CV writing and you can make this impression even if this is not quite the case. There are some services that offer a CV writing service. They cost (About £100-150) but the usually can increase your earning potential by about 30%. Look at www.cvposter.com hey have a affiliate with one such service.

Remember to keep your CV to about 2 pages. Use bullet points to highlight your strong points. Try to tailor your CV to highlight points about yourself that are relevent to the position you are applying for.

Once at interview, try taking a notepad and paper with you as this shows that you are paying attention and have a desire to learn. Look at the company's website prior to interview and ensure that you fully understand their products, etc.