Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Endowment Misery!!!!!!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 17 February 2004, 09:55 AM
Scoob99
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Endowment Misery!!!!!!!!!!

Anyone had or having problems with their endowment policy, my parants have just had theirs released, and it has come in at £30,000 less than the guy told them when they took it out in 1983, is their anything they can do,
All help apprciated.
Cheers
Colin
Old 17 February 2004, 10:00 AM
2000TLondon
Scooby Regular

Default Ouch....

I'm no expert but as far as I am aware this is not unusual and there was a lot of talk last year by the government and certain bodies, basically saying people were finding the settlement seriously lacking on expectations. The salesman have talked the potential up and it's got to hurt when it's so much less in the end. There may be ways of complaining through the Financial Ombudsman Service or Trading Standards/Office fair trading, but as far as increasing the pay out goes I don't think it is possible. They could take some comfort in at least letting people know the company has sold them short....
Old 17 February 2004, 10:06 AM
Phil
Track Day Organiser

Write to the provider and claim that the policy was miss sold

Were your parents ever told they may not have enough money [I doubt it]

Were your parents ever told they would receive a large lump sum in addition to paying the mortgage off [I expect so]

Use both the above statements in your recorded delivery letter.

It may take some time but you will find IF you have been miss sold the product you will get some form of compensation

How do I know

Happened to my In Laws with Barclays, To be fair to Barclays they looked into the claim and settled the mortgage deficit [after 18 months of letters] they wouldn't pay the "bonus" they expected but at least they wern't stuck with a new loan they weren't expecting

Good Luck
Old 17 February 2004, 10:14 AM
TelBoy
Scooby Regular