Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Any IT contractors on here use an umbrella company?? benefits?

Search this Thread

Old 22 July 2005, 01:56 PM
Petem95
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Any IT contractors on here use an umbrella company?? benefits?

Im possibly starting a new temp contract soon, and wondering if its worth getting paid through an unbrella company?

What exactly are the advantages of doing so? I'll be paying higher rate tax.

Can things like mileage expenses, hotels be claimed back?
Old 22 July 2005, 02:09 PM
wez_sti
Scooby Regular

Talking

Originally Posted by Petem95

Im possibly starting a new temp contract soon, and wondering if its worth getting paid through an unbrella company?

What exactly are the advantages of doing so? I'll be paying higher rate tax.

Can things like mileage expenses, hotels be claimed back?
hi mate,

i'm a IT contractor working through the umbrella company 'giant'

basically it works out your treated as being self employed so you end up paying ALOT less Ni and Tax as all expenses can be taken off before tax is calculated.

you get a susbtadence (sp) for each day which is £25 if your out of your house for more than either 10 or 12 hrs (cant remember) plus something like 35p a mile.

in a nutshell i've ended up being about £80 a week better off!! and thats after the umbrella company have taken their share!

DO IT,DO IT NOW!!!

oh and if you say i recomended you i get £75

Wez
Old 22 July 2005, 02:49 PM
Fosters
Scooby Regular

Don't go with GIANT.

I'm still paying a £70K tax bill because of their cockup!

It's a long story, but the bottom line is it was their fault and they knew it, but when i said "I shall sue...", they said, "try it, we have the best lawyers"

Prosperity4 is a better umbrella company IMHO, but they do steal 6% of your gross.
Old 22 July 2005, 02:52 PM
wez_sti
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up