Karting

Search this Thread

Old 22 August 2005, 05:23 PM
Huge
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Karting

A request for advice!

Having done plenty of arrive & drive type karting I'd now like to go one stage further & purchase my own kart.

Have been recommended Rotax Max (low maintenance for a non-mechanic like me) & have started searching for a suitable 2nd hand kart.

Live near (30 mins) Rye House & would envisage getting my eye in there.

Currently hold an ARDS 'B' licence which exempts me from the ARKS test.

Any advice / recommendations??

I've little knowledge, have no kart & no gear other than a helmet I've used for tin-top racing!

Don't want to spend over-the-top money (hence most likely to go 2nd hand) as not sure at this stage that I want to be karting every single weekend.

Hugh
Old 22 August 2005, 06:06 PM
Recaro
Scooby Regular

Best website to check if you havent already found is www.karting.co.uk

Loads of advice/infor for karting. Also have a "market place" which has loads of karts for sale.

Rotax Max is best for someone with limited knowledge about karts. The engines are sealed and need rebuilds after 20hrs of use which needs to be carried out by a authorised company.

Best thing is to attend a race day at a track and speak to people who race.

(I dont race karts, but am looking into it)
Old 22 August 2005, 07:40 PM
jgc
Scooby Regular

Rotax Max is 50 hours for a rebuild, the engines are sealed to prevent enhancements, fixed ECU limited to circa 14000 rpm ... I am not sure I understand the 'limited knowledge about karts' reference ... maybe you mean engine rebuilds?

http://tracksideracing.co.uk/
Old 22 August 2005, 08:31 PM
Recaro
Scooby Regular

Yeah I meant engine rebuilds. They seem to be the best for a novice's wanted to start in the sport.

As I said, i dont race karts, so I dont know alot.
Old 22 August 2005, 09:07 PM
andyhaase1
Scooby Regular