Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

SHIMANO HYDRAULIC MINERAL OIL - MOUNTAIN BIKE

Search this Thread

Old 28 August 2005, 10:19 PM
dazc
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SHIMANO HYDRAULIC MINERAL OIL - MOUNTAIN BIKE

Got some hydraulic discs on my mountain bike. Trouble is they are on the wrong side for me, ie Front brake is on the left.

Have a feeling I will kill myself with this setup, so I want to swap them across. Looks a straight forward enough job, just undo the thread that goes into each brake lever and swap them over.

Do I have to use Shimano mineral oil, or is any mineral oil ok from a bike shop? And can I mix the shimano oil with whatever I buy just to top up the resovoir?
How much would I need, seems to come in either 1 litre or 50ml !

New bike, just want to be cautious.

Cheers, Daz
Old 29 August 2005, 12:54 AM
Brother_Will
Scooby Regular

www.singletrackworld.com i am a qualified bike mechanic but its late lol
Old 29 August 2005, 03:00 PM
Sticky Stuff
Scooby Regular

Location: ShyTot graphics Location: Squires Bar Location: Wakecastlefract

Not much help, but...

Get it done NOW. A Polish lad that sometimes rides out with us bought a new GT with discs. Now apparently (I don't know for sure!) european bikes, which he was used to, are the 'wrong' way round. Imagine 3 flights of steel steps coming down from a bridge, a small tap on the wrong brake, and four weeks off work!

I'd have thought that 50ml would be sufficient, looking at the size of the reservoirs. A litre would mean you (and all yer mates) would be set for life )
Old 29 August 2005, 06:00 PM
J4CKO
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post