Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Advice on a last minute snow break?

Search this Thread

Old 13 March 2006, 12:26 PM
Edcase
Scooby Regular

Location: Throwing myself down a mountain at every opportunity...
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on a last minute snow break?

Unfortunately a crazy few months at work have meant I have yet to go away at all this season, and time is running out

I have managed to squeeze in a week from 29th March (Wednesday to Wednesday) so it's just a case of booking somewhere.

I have previously boarded in Chamonix, La Thuile and La Plagne, am 'intermediate' with a partner who is still a beginner and will be wanting 3 days of board school.

I like all kinds of riding, but preferably somewhere with something 'interesting' as I'm just learning to get air / grabs etc. so maybe a park of some kind. Powder would also be a bonus, but ideally accessible as I will be on my own so will not want to go hiking into back country!!

I will be driving there, and wil be wanting a good hotel, preferably with a sauna / jacuzzi and a good restaurant.

My question really is:

Where is a pretty safe bet in late March for some good fresh snow?

If I book my eurotunnel now, would I be safe to leave booking hotel and board school literally at the last minute once the 6 day snow report is in?

Will I get better 'last minute' season bargains by booking now, or literally last minute?

Current thinking on resorts is: Laax or Davos, Les 2 Alpes, Verbier or Zermatt (maybe too far to drive).

Anyone with any thoughts on the above or reccommendations would be very welcome, i want to make the most of this precious and likely only week on the slopes this season!

cheers

Ed
Old 13 March 2006, 12:41 PM
NorthDave
Scooby Regular

You could pretty much go anywhere in the Alps. Ive just come back from Alp D'Hueze, Les Gets and Les Arc. It is throwing it down with snow and has been for the last two weeks. At least a meter extra snow.