Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Which graduate school should I go to?

Search this Thread

Old 23 December 2006, 09:49 PM
Cobreth
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which graduate school should I go to?

Greetings from across the pond! I'm an American student who has been accepted by three graduate schools in England (woot!), and I was wondering if I could get a Briton's opinion on which one is best. Here's what I've gotten into:

Royal Holloway
MSc Information Security

City University
MSc Business Systems Analysis and Design

Lancaster University
MSc Information Technology, Management, and Organisational Change

Now, I like City University because it's in London. And honestly, that's just awesome. However, I really like the program at Royal Holloway and according to what I've read, it's a top-notch school. It's outside of London which isn't so bad, but still not preferable. Lancaster has a brilliant program as well, but I really really don't want to be out in the boonies.

Now, I really know nothing about England other than London, which I've visited. I watch Top Gear and Fifth Gear and pick up what I can, but I don't know the country like you guys do. So what do I need to know to make a decision?

-Matt
Old 23 December 2006, 10:38 PM
Kev_turbo
Scooby Regular

Lancaster is about 250 miles north of London about 20 miles south of the Lake district. The Universtiy is actually situated a few miles outside of Lancaster itself and has it's own student village atmosphere. It really depends on what you want from your time at University. Lancaster will give you a more relaxed atmosphere and better access to the english countryside, it will also be alot cheaper for both accomodation and day to day living. London obviously has the 24 hour lifestyle.

Not sure about Holloway so can't help there.

Hipe the above helps, if I have just repeated your own research then I apologise

Kev
Old 23 December 2006, 10:46 PM
wrcturbo
Scooby Regular