Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

National insurance question.

Search this Thread

Old 23 August 2007, 05:43 PM
harry007
Scooby Regular

Received 37 Likes on 31 Posts
Default National insurance question.

From my understanding, national insurance works out at 11% if you earn more than £100 a week, correct? I've been working through the summer for a mortgage broker (i'm a student) tax etc was being paid, but because he was paying me by cheque etc every two weeks, he didnt work out any nic.

so after one set two weeks of work(two weeks ago), he handed me a bill which took all two weeks of work to pay this one bill of nic. The letter was from an accountant. The confusion I have over the letter. It says I need to pay £x amount, and my bosses share is £x amount. So thats fine, I paid my 11week late nic. But on the letter its addressed that my boss pays the the outstanding amount of his share

So to make it simpler:

1. I am now paying nic, can my boss charge me nic for his share too?
2. I havent been paying nic, because of his laziness (plus it was my first official job, so had no idea) do I pay back dated nic? or no start fresh?

so in conclusion, is my boss eligble to charge me nic for his share and mine?

Sorry if i'm being thick, but I realise if I was paid via payee system, this wouldnt have been a problem.

Any help is much appreciated.
Old 23 August 2007, 06:10 PM
David Lock
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If you don't get a sensible answer here then give your local tax office a ring. They can actually be quite friendly and helpful. It's probably rare for students to actually be declaring an income so that will be in your favour! You may be due some tax back if your employer has not been given a proper tax code for you. dl
Old 23 August 2007, 08:23 PM
harry007
Scooby Regular

Let me put it simpler,