Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Renting, Buy to Let, Mortgages....advice?

Search this Thread

Old 23 February 2009, 02:26 PM
LG John
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Renting, Buy to Let, Mortgages....advice?

I'm looking for some advice on where I stand on a number of issues relating to the above.

My story, briefly, is that I'm a professional gambler (poker player) and my wife works in a fairly low paid job. We have a 2 bedroom flat, with a mortgage, which I took out when I was still in full-time employment. At some point within the next 1-3 years we intend to start a family but our flat, whilst fairly spacious, isn't ideal and thus we'd want to move to a bigger place.

I fear in current financial climate it would be near impossible for us to get a mortgage as my wife's wages alone wouldn't come close and I'd have to self-certify. I therefore have considered moving into the rental market with a view to potentially renting out my property. I'd rather not sell it in the current depressed market if there was no need to do so. I believe that our flat on a fully-furnished basis could easily attract £600pcm and I've been looking at houses in outlying commuter towns 10-15 miles out of city limits. There seems to be a good choice of 3-4 bedroom modern detached homes in the £900-1100pcm range. If we sold up and paid back our mortgage we could afford those rates, or if we rented our place for circa £600pcm then we could also afford it as its' only an extra £300-500 per month to find.