Been offered a company car....

Search this Thread

Old 04 January 2012, 08:20 PM
Morzy
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Been offered a company car....

Anybody have any experience?

It would be something like an insignia, 3 series etc and would probably end up costing me around £50 per month.

Have been told that they will cover all servicing, mot, repairs, tax an insurance etc so it seems like a good deal on he face of it, but I have no experience with company cars.

Anybody offer any advice?
Old 04 January 2012, 08:33 PM
al02uk
Scooby Regular

Hi mate,

The company tends to pay all costs associated with running the car.
You will have to pay tax (benefit) on the vehicle, I would have thought it was more than £50 per month though.

You would then have to pay fuel tax on top if your company pays for your private mileage.

Here is a link to the HMRC car tax calculator:

http://cccfcalculator.hmrc.gov.uk/CCF0.aspx

Hope this helps a bit

Last edited by al02uk; 04 January 2012 at 08:42 PM. Reason: added weblink
Old 04 January 2012, 08:37 PM
madscoob
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

be carefull with the fuel contribution side of things . ours is about £59 for a insignia estate in benefit in kind tax loss . then its who pays for fuel . if its them and you pay £60quid flat rate a month as per our lot , remember £60 quid is 500miles . it starts to get expencive if you include the loss on tax allowance . 59 plus 60 is £120 quid for the sake of argument thats 1200miles a month 14400miles a year just to get your money back in private miles . my advice look it up on the net and do your homework , it all depends what you want from a car . and how much agro you are prepared to take having one
Old 04 January 2012, 08:48 PM
Morzy
Scooby Regular