Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Anybody study Mech. Engineering in the UK? Advice needed.

Search this Thread

Old 13 May 2002, 05:48 AM
DSteele
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Hello all. I will be attending university in the fall of 2002, and I'm debating which university to attend. I've been offered a place at the University of Washington in Seattle, and also at Brunel University. Before I make the decision, I'd like to hear some of the UK perspective of a Brunel education. The course is mechanical engineering with automotive design and I've been wondering: Is this a good degree to get into the UK auto industry as a career? What is studying engineering like in the UK? Anything I should know about living in (West) London? Please give any advice. Thanks. Feel free to email as well SubaruRali@hotmail.com.
Old 13 May 2002, 09:05 AM
BugEyed
Scooby Regular

Wink

Hi

I studied at Brunel from 83 - 87 so things will have changed a bit since then, but here is my 2 pennies worth.

In the UK there is a fair degree of snobbieness about Universities amoungst different people, sometimes based on fact and sometimes not. This will effect you to a less an extent when getting a job and more so in your social life. Effectively there are three levels of University;

1. Oxford and Cambridge.
1a Durham and a couple of others.
2. "Redbrick" universities - eg Birmingham, Bristol.
2a "Modern" universities - eg Brunel.
3. Former polytechnics - eg Sussex, Hertfordshire, Middlesex.