Other Marques Non-Subaru Vehicles

Saab 93 aero 2.0 t / opinions please

Search this Thread

Old 13 June 2006, 06:59 PM
Notorious
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Saab 93 aero 2.0 t / opinions please

Hi all, went and had a look at this today (hope pic below works), I have no experience of saabs and was wondering if anyone on here could give me few pointers, reliability, fuel, performance etc.

Has 62k on clock, full leather, fsh, one owner. It is priced at £6995 and they have offered me 3k trade in on mazda which I think is fair.

TIA

Old 13 June 2006, 07:02 PM
dpb
Scooby Regular

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Another couple of grand gets you the new shape/chassis
Old 13 June 2006, 07:09 PM
Notorious
Scooby Regular

thanks for that, can't really justify few extra grand on it at the moment.
Old 14 June 2006, 11:17 AM
skinters
Scooby Regular

At that mileage it shouldnt have any issues. If it's an Aero it will run best on 98Ron (eg Optimax) as the boost is a bit higher and will suffer on poorer fuel.

Cam chains don't need done until about 120k miles++ (£5-600)
DI Cassette can fail but that's normally at 90k + miles (£160)

When you drive it, you want to check it's boosting properly - the boost should go easily into the orange/mid section of the gauge and push towards the red if standard. If it flies past the end of red and into the black, it's been modded
Nail it in 3rd and take it to the red line - it should pull hard all the way smoothly. 2nd gear wont get you full boost, 3rd and up will.

Clutches good for 120k miles - should be no judder.

Handling is not great on these as standard but it should be taught enough with no clunks.
Check the engine mounts look ok and there is not much movement - good way to also check this is the gearstick shouldnt move much at all when you power on/off. If it slops about then something is amiss.