ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Stealth engine mods....

Search this Thread

Old 07 September 2001, 12:32 AM
astraboy
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

"A friend of mine" has an Impreza (Old shape, not sure of the year).
He would like to know if it is possible to modify the engine to produce more power, but in a way that it looks standard, sounds standard and can only be discovered if the engine is dissasembled.
Is this possible?
astraboy.
Old 07 September 2001, 12:52 AM
Markus
Scooby Regular

I know you can get a BMP stroker kit, which enlarges the bore to 2.2l instead of 2.0, thus this could give more power, not sure. guess that by getting different cams you could also gain more power, and maybe porting and polishing the heads will help. Also, unless you really know your beans then uprating the turbo should be fairly 'stealthy'

I'm not technical, so not sure if what I'm saying is tosh or not.

Of course if the car is UK spec, or low end jap then you could always drop in an STi engine pref a 22b's 2.2 (yeah right!), but the red bits might give the game away
Old 07 September 2001, 12:58 AM
john banks
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Is he trying to avoid telling the insurers? If so don't bother tell them all or it could all end in tears.

It depends on how hard people will look and it depends on the reason for secrecy. For example an altered ECU could be easily found, as could a bleed valve or a boost controller, or a panel filter. I suppose if the head was gas flowed that might release more power, but the biggest improvements are had on Scoobys cheaply by changing the induction and downpipe, then the backbox/centre and then doing the ECU.

A car with a DP, panel filter and a ECU remap could look and "almost" sound standard if you kept the centre and backbox as std. Potentially this could release up to 20% extra power.