Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

What BHP 1992/1993 WRX?

Search this Thread

Old 09 July 2003, 08:33 PM
mad malc
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have just had a test drive in a K reg WRX saloon today at an importers near Manchester. It is a little older than what I am really looking for but just wanted to drive a few cars before I take the plunge. The guy at the garage said it was 260 BHP, I take it this is crap? As it did not feel that fast. I thought they were 220 BHP, for that year although I am no expert. The first thing that I noticed is how flimsy the build quality feels, the brakes were pretty crap too. The car was actually quite good to drive had 68,000 miles (god knows if genuine!)it was a lot better than the only other scooby I have driven which was a really overpriced 1995 UK Turbo Estate 67 K miles FSSH from a dealer in Rochdale. This car looked bad on its tiny wheels and the suspension was complete and utter crap! It bounced everywhere and I thought it was gonna bottom out on this bumpy country road we were on. The WRX's suspension was great not knocking your fillings out but very flat cornering and it felt really chuckable. This leads me to another question, do the later UK cars, say a 1997 for example have better suspension than the earlier cars? Or is it just the estate that is poor? The setup on this WRX was perfect really, do not think I would like firmer (like an STI), just wanted to know as I have to travel a fair way to test drive these cars. Thanks.
Old 09 July 2003, 08:37 PM
pugoetru
Scooby Regular

they dont necesarily feel that fast till you look how small the TT is in the mirror
Old 09 July 2003, 08:45 PM
GREEN SCOOBY
Scooby Regular