SNOW + WRX = ?

Search this Thread

Old 30 May 2000, 03:27 AM
wall
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Hi,
I am in Australia and as winter has just arrived I am heading off to the snow this weekend. I've been up to the snow in my WRX before however the road was well swept and consequently was not able to experience on-snow driving. As this will be my first time driving on a slightly snowy surface, and the first time in a 4wd car, what can I expect? How much higher is the "chains-fitting-treshold" compared to a 2wd car. How good is the grip (on road tires)? I am a intermediate competent driver (6 track days, over 10 cart racing sessions), can I expect controllable powerslides or should I crawl along? How different is the grip from a very wet road?
Lots of questions.....
Thanks for the help, I see myself scandinavian-flicking up the mountain, with a cloud of snow behind.....but I fear reality might be more like a 20km/h crawl with chains (I hate chains).

Wall
Old 30 May 2000, 07:17 AM
rsquire
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I should read your user Manual.. The ones for our cars state DO not use chains.. In fact the Impreza gets exemption at the "fit chains now" signs.

Reason being there isn't clearance with the 16" rim for chains.

As far as handling then a lot will depend on the tyres you have fitted. As winter tyres we either fit Bridgestone Blizzaks or Michelin Alpin.. The Blizzaks are AMAZING on ice and packed snow. It's just as if you're on a dry road.. Really incredible!! Not so good in deep snow then we use the Hakkapelita 10s with studs.

If you are regularly going to the snow then it may be worth looking at a set of the Blizzaks

Cheers

Richard

<edit Damn typos>

[This message has been edited by rsquire (edited 30-05-2000).]
Old 31 May 2000, 12:28 AM
RobJenks
Scooby Regular

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Wall,
Why ponce about in the snow when you can have a ball in Darwin!!!!!!!!!!
Old 31 May 2000, 07:14 AM
wall
Scooby Regular