ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

hi newbie here look for advice

Search this Thread

Old 22 April 2006, 10:05 PM
Steven-Sti
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hi newbie here look for advice

Hi everyone great site, right i am looking to buy a scooby for about the 16k tops a friend of mine is selling his its 53plate wrx uk but he says it has the wheels spoiler zort on it so it looks the like the sti model, i have been on the site for months just reading but i though i may join up now as i am gonna buy one now, could someone tell what's difference between as wrx an wrx sti if i am right in saying that the 2 models ?
Old 22 April 2006, 10:48 PM
corradoboy
Scooby Regular

Sti gets uprated engine internals such as nitride crank and sodium filled valves making it better for coping with more power. It has a slightly bigger turbo. 6sp 'box, faster steering rack, suretrack diff making it more adjustable mid-bend. Bigger intercooler and scoop, corner aero splitters, different sills and the big rear wing. Lovely 2 tone black with blue alcantara interior with alloy gear surround and shift change light/buzzer.

£16k should get you a nice 03-04 STi with PPP and maybe some other nice goodies such as springs, wheels etc. You may also find some 05 EU imports which benefit from the revised Spec C suspension geometry and possibly DCCD-A (adjustable centre diff.) You could also look at brand new 06 2.5l WRX's from the likes of Alliance and Litchfield Imports.

Your mates WRX is worth IRO £11k, or £12k with PPP IMHO. If you bought that you could plough the difference into some serious power and handling mods.

HTH, and welcome to SNet
Old 24 April 2006, 01:28 PM
Steven-Sti
Scooby Newbie

cheers thanks, my mate said he wants about 15half for his causr it has a sounds an tv/dvd in the cause off the extras he spent on it, i thought that was dear so i though i would ask u guys
Old 24 April 2006, 04:25 PM
corradoboy
Scooby Regular