Any PPP experts?

Search this Thread

Old 28 April 2006, 07:33 PM
mail2neil
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any PPP experts?

[deep breath!]
I am no expert, in fact I have 2 weeks light research and 3/8ths of f-all else to base anything on..., so please have sympathy!

Today I missed a bargain '06 STi and it's left me pondering my options.

The same wholesaler tells me they can get me another STi in 2-4 weeks - and, reading the Subaru website, I quite like the sound of a TypeD (leather seats and sat nav). But are there other differences?

No matter what, it's going to ProDrive as I have heard they are easier to live with and faster.

But now I'm wondering... if it's going to ProDrive, then is it worth the extra expense of STi over WRX? What are the physical differences between WRX and STi anyway? - Where can I look for that info?

So, anyway, I rang ProDrive to book the whole thing in; The guy on the phone didn't sound like he knew everything but said;
1) If it's a wholesaler, then it can't be certified,
2) They can't upgrade a Type D,
3) He couldn't easily tell me the difference between the ProDrive'd WRX and STi in terms of performance, other than there was one.

I found it hard to believe 1), impossible to believe 2), and 3)....!?

If 1,2 and 3 are the case, then is there an alternative, or do I need to buy a Type UK?

Can anyone help me?

Many, many thanks

Neil
Old 28 April 2006, 07:45 PM
white
Scooby Regular

As far as I know the Type D is an STI but without the big spoiler for people who want to have a more subtle look.
Old 28 April 2006, 08:04 PM
mail2neil
Scooby Newbie

Oh.. so why can't they upgrade it..
Thanks for the reply.
TBH; I just wanted leather seats and Sat Nav..

But what I do want is a nicely upgraded car, with no regrets.

In breif, what's the WRX -> STi difference, and if it's 5k in money terms.. is it worth it?
Old 28 April 2006, 08:39 PM
Adrian F
Scooby Regular

i believe if you PPP an import you void the warrenty.