2006 STI BRAKE PADS

Search this Thread

Old 10 July 2007, 01:10 PM
RonnieB
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2006 STI BRAKE PADS

Hi all,

Anyone know best place to buy some uprated pads (front and rear) for a hawkeye 2006 STI with brembo callipers.

When I've depressed the 'fun pedal' a little too hard the brake pedal feels spongy when I press it and tends to give up quite easily when braking hard (not that I speed or anything )!!!!

Suggestions for best ones and where to buy would be cool.

Also, how easy are they to fit? (I'm no mechanic ). Any special tools required?

Many thx

Ronnie
Old 10 July 2007, 01:25 PM
GazTheHat
Scooby Regular

Contact Alyn from AS Performance.

I can recommend the Ferrodo DS2500, Goodridge s/steel hoses & Motul 5.1 fluid. Increased pedal feel and do not fade as quickly.
Old 10 July 2007, 01:28 PM
Mikkel
Scooby Regular

You must be doing warp speed as the standard breaks on my 06 STI are great.
Old 10 July 2007, 01:56 PM
RLE
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by GazTheHat
Contact Alyn from AS Performance.

I can recommend the Ferrodo DS2500, Goodridge s/steel hoses & Motul 5.1 fluid. Increased pedal feel and do not fade as quickly.
Remind me Gaz what is the squeal like on the DS2500's?
Do you also get that awkward clunking from the pad moving in the calliper at low speeds.
Brake dust an issue?
Think I need some new ones on mine to keep the AP's at bay
Old 10 July 2007, 05:06 PM
al-g
Scooby Regular

I've got the DS2500's on my MY05 STi and think theyr'e great. Don't get any squeel and i heard more clunking with the standard pads in. As for brake dust, you do get a fair amount over your wheels.
Old 10 July 2007, 05:16 PM
Scooby Senior

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

EBC yellows
Old 10 July 2007, 05:45 PM
SPEN555
Scooby Regular