ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Considering getting a classic

Search this Thread

Old 13 November 2007, 11:23 PM
Probein
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Considering getting a classic

So here's the story. I currently own a bugeye with PPP, which I've had for about 8 months. I absolutely love it to bits, however I'm soon going to be moving in with my mrs, meaning I'll need a few extra pennies if possible. So, I'm considering selling the bugeye and buying myself a classic, which *should* leave some money left over for savings.

By the time I come to sell it, the bug will have done around 70k miles, so I'd hope to get about £6500 or so for it (hopefully a bit more). I've looked on Piston Heads etc and found lots of classics for around the 4-5000 mark, which would be perfect.

I'm relatively new to the scooby scene, and to be quite honest classics confuse me a bit. I'm not sure what I should be looking for, many of them are advertised as 'Impreza Turbo's', are they just the same as WRX's? What should I look for and is there anything I should be avoiding?

I'd also like to know about performance. The chap I bought my bug from owned a classic before it and said he preferred it, because he thought it was a little more 'raw' and seemed a bit faster. How quick is your average classic? Not STi or anything? And saying that, maybe I should go for an STi, as I've seen one or two within my price range.

The only big worries I have about the whole thing is:

a) mods - I'm not keen on lots of modding (I know, shouldn't have a scooby really should I?), so I'm looking for a car that has been fiddled with as little as possible (a blank canvass if you will).

b) mileage. Being older classics seem to have quite high mileage. Is this a worry or are they extremely reliable even to very high mileage?

Any info would be massively appreciated! Thanks in advance guys and girls.
Old 13 November 2007, 11:30 PM
milo
Scooby Regular