ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

total newbie question :|

Search this Thread

Old 25 February 2010, 05:36 PM
Hornet_rider
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default total newbie question :|

Ok wana buy my first scooby, though hitting a speed bump on which model to choose from.

Can someone clarify what the difference is as its either been a long *** day or I just need glasses

I want a WRX STI, Though I keep seeing different models like 'prodrive' 'PPP' and 'type uk'

can someone explain each ot me please

cheers
Old 25 February 2010, 07:41 PM
Matt78
Scooby Regular

What age are you talking about buying mate? Then people can be of more help.
Old 25 February 2010, 08:02 PM
Hornet_rider
Scooby Newbie

ah I see, 2003

cheers mate
Old 25 February 2010, 08:36 PM
TonyBurns
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Ok, so a PPP'd STI of that age will be 305PS or 301bhp, the standard model is 265ps or 262bhp so you have an increase in power there
Type UK just denotes that its a UK spec model, you get eu imports that are exactly the same spec and then you get the JDM cars which are totally different with revised engines and better power distribution/higher rev range/more usable torque/more out of the box power.

http://www.prodrive.com/
Prodrive is a company that started off life building rally cars, they are based in Banbury, just off the M40 (you can see their place when you pass it on the m/way), they also do performance upgrades, the PPP (prodrive performance pack) being one of them, its an official upgrade along with all the other prodrive goodies you can get for scoobs

Tony
Old 25 February 2010, 08:41 PM
SunnySideUp
Scooby Regular

EU Imports are not exactly the same as a Type UK .... Alarm System is different and won't be registered on the Subaru UK Database if anything goes wrong with it (see the popst on Sigma Alarm in this Forum).

There will be other differences too ....