Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Evo 8 or STI MY03? (links provided)

Search this Thread

Old 22 August 2012, 02:59 PM
bawse.c
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Evo 8 or STI MY03? (links provided)

Hi all,

I live in NZ and I was looking to buy a MY03 STI for about 17kNZD and then I came across an EVO 8 owner whos willing to get rid of the beast for around 19k.

I am a complete newbie when it comes to EVO, which one would be the best buy for money???

http://www.trademe.co.nz/motors/used...-490247472.htm

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/List...x?id=494932329
Old 22 August 2012, 05:35 PM
Dnalunchie
Scooby Regular

Depends what you are looking for really, if you are looking for a road going track car then the evo will probably be a small amount shaper at the track, however the STI is a much nicer daily drive with a much better interior.

Also if I was pushed to say so I would argue that the sti would be more reliable too in the long run. But at the end of the day they are very similar, take them both for a drive and see what you think .For me I would sacrifice 1 or 2% of track performance for a much nicer daily driver so it would be the sti for me (this is an STI forum though so you might get a different story in an evo forum).

Last edited by Dnalunchie; 22 August 2012 at 05:36 PM. Reason: spelling check
Old 22 August 2012, 05:39 PM
Dnalunchie
Scooby Regular

Also have you seen this sti? same as the one you linked but cheaper

http://www.trademe.co.nz/motors/used...-481403049.htm
Old 22 August 2012, 05:44 PM
bawse.c
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by Dnalunchie
Depends what you are looking for really, if you are looking for a road going track car then the evo will probably be a small amount shaper at the track, however the STI is a much nicer daily drive with a much better interior.