Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

ADVICE on an 03 impreza engine rebuild please!

Search this Thread

Old 02 November 2013, 07:21 AM
marc lee
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question ADVICE on an 03 impreza engine rebuild please!

Hey guys, I haven't posted for a little while because my beloved impreza has been testing for almost a year until I decided what to do with with it. Last year after a major overhear due to a corroded radiator it developed internal detonation problems thus leading to my engine being opened up. ... Now I'm not a pro when it comes to cars so please don't give me any technical terminology, but 2 of my stock pistons need replacing therfore needing a full set. Iv opted for cosworth pistons and rods because the price difference isn't that substantial compared to subaru parts and im very happy to have a more resilient and reliable engine. But my MAIN question to you guys is, even though my crank is supposedly ok, is it worth getting a forged crank too???? I don't plan to up the HP to an astonishing level as i have other priorities in my life at this time. but i love the thought of knowing my car is at a good "base level" if ever I wanted too . Thanks in advance people.
Old 02 November 2013, 08:15 AM
Markfey
Scooby Regular

While it's out get as much done as you can afford to do. You'll save in the long run.

You can almost guarantee whatever you don't do will need doing shortly after the engine goes back in.

Alan Jeffery enginetuner would be a good place to start.
Old 02 November 2013, 08:16 AM
Markfey
Scooby Regular

While it's out get as much done as you can afford to do. You'll save in the long run.

You can almost guarantee whatever you don't do will need doing shortly after the engine goes back in.

Alan Jeffery enginetuner would be a good place to start.
Old 02 November 2013, 08:34 AM
stonejedi
Scooby Regular

Received 149 Likes on 109 Posts

Originally Posted by marc lee