Notices

WRX STi Poor Handling

Search this Thread

Old 11 October 2003, 07:50 PM
Gary C
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I know what you mean about the tramlining. Mine has started doing it, but did not before. I think something has got knocked out of adjustment. Apart from that, the handling is spot on, the car changes direction quicker than my old EVO and is a joy to drive.

I have a fiend who knows a fair bit about suspension (used to be a senior chassis engineer at TWR), apparently many manufactures have notoriously loose tollerances on suspension settings, yours may need a tweak.

Anyone tried APB motorsport's suspension adjustment service ?

[Edited by Gary C - 11/10/2003 7:51:21 PM]
Old 10 November 2003, 07:11 PM
carl-hf
Scooby Newbie

Question

I have been running an 03 WRX STi for about 6 months from new. Compared to my old P1, which handled like a dream, the STi has been a real disappointment, more of a nightmare.

Admittedly it is still running the standard Bridgestone Potenza's but the handling is really bad, the front end wavers all over the place and tramlines if it can follow features on the road surface, not very confidence inspiring at high speed.

What can I do to rectify this, the dealer has not been much help? I have heard about some STi spring sets, can somebody tell me a bit about them and anything else that is going to make the steering more precise.
Old 10 November 2003, 07:13 PM
fuz
Scooby Regular

tyre pressures ok?
Old 10 November 2003, 07:13 PM
Jonto
Scooby Regular

You should blow your tyres up !
Old 10 November 2003, 07:27 PM
yasawas
Scooby Regular

Exclamation

why did you change from the P1!!!!!???????
Old 10 November 2003, 08:00 PM
Nathan L
Scooby Regular

Lightbulb

Firstly get rid of the standard Bridgestone tyres which are rubbish. Most Scooby owners seem to like Goodyear Eagle F1's or Toyo Proxes T1-S. I have tried both and both are much better that the standard jobbies.